Almost a Year???

IMG_5322

I can’t believe it’s October already! And I can even less believe that since my last blog post a whole month has passed again! So much is happening. A year went flying by like never before. Savina is turning one in less than two weeks. I’m still trying to wrap my head around that. She was inside me. I pushed her out. She was a tiny peanut who couldn’t move much on her own. Now she’s a grown little tyke, who is walking, and wanting to run! Really?

IMG_5268While we’re talking about walking… talking about walking hoho, Savina has improved so much since my last post. She’s a good walker now, starting to cross rooms and going faster and faster. I can tell that she wants to run, but she’s not quite there yet. If I lend her my fingers to hold on to lightly, she goes off flying.

Much has also changed in Savina’s understanding and communication. She understands a lot of what I say to her now. She opens her mouth when I ask her to, so I can brush her teeth. A couple of days ago I asked her if she wanted to listen to music because she was looking and pointing at the cd player. She got all excited. I asked, “Do you want music?” When she got excited, I said: “Say ja ja.” And she said in return right away: “Ja ja!” looking at me expectantly. She’s been pointing at the cd player several times since and always gets excited when I “notice” it and offer to turn on the player.

IMG_5301The other day she looked at her stack of books on the table during breakfast. I said, “You want to read a book?” I then placed the books next to each other in front of her and said “You pick. Which one do you want to read?” I didn’t expect this, but she looked for a short while and then pointed at one! (It was “A Mother for Choco” by the way).

Savina points a lot now, wanting me to name everything she points at. She can find more than just the cats in books, too. A couple weeks or so ago we were reading a book about the alphabet. When we got to “p” for pigs, I asked her where the pigs are. She looked at both pages (there is one pic and letter per page with a short sentence). She scrutinized the pages, then looked at me completely baffled and shook her head. I showed her where the pigs were. We finished the book and started over. On to the pigs again, I asked once more, and this time she pointed at them. Such a smart girl. On the last page, the letter “y,” there is a mirror. I asked where Savina is and she pointed at the mirror.

IMG_5251My little girl has started to give me things. Toys, mostly. She also gives me her spoon when she ate from it and wants more, sometimes with and sometimes without me asking–too adorable. And she not only started attempting to feed her plush dog, but a couple days later also tried feeding me. And when I get close to her hand and actually take some, or pretend to, she laughs or smiles.

Savina has become more aware of herself. When she eats, she does now notice when food is not entirely in her mouth, and she will use her hand and/or wrist to push the rest in.

IMG_5297A couple of days ago, as we were eating breakfast, I gave Savina a piece of my liverwurst bread she was eyeing. She also had a piece of bread with butter. She munched away, but didn’t finish the piece I had given her from my bread. So she was holding that liverwurst bread in her hand and continued eating the other one. After a while she looked at my bread, then at me, expectantly. Before I could say anything, like pointing out that she still has a piece of my bread, she noticed it herself, and with a sudden “oh, right” expression, she stuffed her liverwurst bread in her mouth, satisfied. This morning we had a similar situation, except with the bread being on her tray instead of in her hand. It amazes me how conscious of everything Savina is becoming lately.

Savina’s favorite word these days is “jajajaja” and she shakes her head to say “no,” and sometimes it seems as though she is shaking her head to say “yes” because she hasn’t quite figured out how to nod yet.

IMG_5234This little peanut has recently rediscovered her growl. Back in March she first discovered it and growled endlessly for a week, maybe longer. It was hilarious listening to her bite into her plush toys and go “arrrrggghhh grrrraaaa.” This time her growl is more advanced and she practises all kinds of ways to growl.

I’m so happy Savina is out of her latest set of “Wonder Weeks” since a couple of weeks or so. I’m still baffled by how precise this can be predicted. I notice such a huge difference with her. While she’s in her leap week she becomes so clingy and fussy, and I can hardly move an inch without her bellowing as if I had left the house without her. Cooking dinner becomes the most difficult task of the day during that phase. When she’s not in her leap week she happily plays at her “toy stations” around the house all by herself, while I can very well be at the other end of the house. If she wants me, she’ll crawl to me instead of crying for me. And when she comes crawling, and I say “Hi baby,” she gives me the biggest smile.

IMG_5313I can not recommend the book “The Wonder Weeks” enough. It has helped me understand the changes in Savina’s behaviour and to accept what is happening. It has helped me find patience and understanding when Savina is going through a mental development phase. Every time the book predicts a fussy phase Savina exhibits most of the signs mentioned, including clinginess and fussiness. Every time the book predicts that the baby has succesfully completed a develpmental leap, Savina’s behaviour turns around 100%. Thanks to this book I know what to expect and when to expect it. Right now she’s between leaps and wonderfully independent. I love it.

Last weekend she was with Daddy in the office while I was still snoozing. After a while I could hear her on the move, Daddy right behind her. Then I saw her. She crawled into our bedroom. Daddy said she crawled in a straight line from the office to our room (one end of the house to the other). She pulled herself up at the bed and Daddy helped her get on the bed. She didn’t pause then, but went straight up to me, and her mouth found the breast instantly. She knew what she wanted, and she knew where to find it. No fuss about it. I thought that was so cute.

A final thing I wanted to mention: Just as unwanted “advice” is tiring, as I talked about last time, so is the constant negativism from people around me. I can’t put it more clearly or more beautifully than this woman: Joy Or Just Wait

Please stop telling me things like “oh, just wait until she gets running, and into all sorts of trouble” or “just wait until she takes your stuff and flushes it down the toilet” etc. This is negative and stupid, I’m sorry, but I really don’t need to hear this.

Instead, tell me things like “Just wait until she wraps her arms around you when you come home” or “Just wait until she says ‘I love you’ for the first time.”

Can people not think about the beautiful things in this world anymore? Have they become so stressed out that all they see is black in raising their children? Where are the joys? Why aren’t you telling me about the good things to come? You need to wake up and appreciate life again.

I certainly do. Whatever stones are thrown in my way, or whatever mountains we come across, we shall master them. We will endure. We will deal. And we will enjoy the easy paths all the more.

I love parenting. I love my baby. There is no room for negativism.

IMG_5325

p.s.: Here is the quirks video I announced: Savina’s Quirks

This entry was posted in Family.

4 comments on “Almost a Year???

  1. Marcia says:

    Was I guilty of the just wait? Oh I’m sorry if I was. I didn’t mean it that way… Your approach is correct – of course she’s gonna run and be into stuff but that’s wonderful. She’s learning so rapidly.Sadly the “just wait” advice never goes away. As soon as she settles into a marvelous childhood it will start again. I hear, “Oh yes Siobhan is lovely now but just wait until she become a teen. She’s going to do x, y, z….” Argh. Yes we will drive each other crazy and yes it will be challenging but hey that is the wonderful ride of parenthood and I wouldn’t miss it for the world! I also find that the incredible bond that my daughter and I have through nursing and then from the good fortune of me staying at home all this time continues. We get upset but I always feel our closeness. You have a marvelous sense of balance, good humor and passion for mothering. Savina is one lucky young lady!! Now if only I could get my mother-in-law to stop saying, “‘Tis a pity you didn’t have a son because boys are so wonderful and girls will break your heart.” I really have no patience for the boy-worship that goes on with some mommas. Argh. Of course in some families it is true but maybe if the mommas hadn’t thought that way to begin with… LOL!

    • Elli Comeau says:

      Honestly, I don’t remember. You need to visit more often haha. If you are guilty of it, I accept your apology. Isn’t it really sad how this just seems to be all that’s on peoples minds when they see a mom and their child or children? I “love” it especially from people who don’t even have children… ugh.
      I love the nursing bond too! How long did you nurse Siobhan? I forgot!
      Thanks for the compliments! It’s all Savina’s doing. She’s made me a better person!
      I don’t understand the boy-worship. It’s all about your own approach in my opinion. Boys can be just as bad as girls and vice versa, or just as wonderful. It’s in the parenting and it’s in the individual character. When did we stop seeing ourselves as unique human beings?

  2. Maccabros says:

    I think it is no sign of negativism, maybe a thought of care for the things to come but that is not bad.

    And if I read your post about the one, no, the FIRST year from your little girl – I can´t believe it anayway – time is running so fast and she is growing and learning and exploring the world – wonderful !

    And there will be more – exiting things and days about Savina´s walk of life – I love to read it and it´s always a pleasure to feel it with you –

    thank you again for sharing this with us…

    Macabros

    • Elli Comeau says:

      Thank you, Macc. I must disagree with you about the negativism. When you listen to some of those people say it, it does sound very frustrated and negative. Some, I grant you, say it with pride, as my friend Theresa remarked, because they are proud they went through it and dealt and it all turned out well, but not all do. And then there are those who don’t even have children. How would they know? Unfortunately I’m finding a lot of negativism around me in this world these days, not only in regards to a child growing up. It is sad indeed. We live in such a rushed world– people forgot how to stop and look at the beautiful purple flower in the meadow.

      I can’t believe it’s been a year either!! The last six months have especially flown by. I’m excited about what is to come! Thanks for following our happiness. Wish you could meet the little peanut!

Leave a Reply

