34 weeks – baby already getting spoiled!

Only three more weeks to term! I do hope though that Savina stays bakin’ for another six weeks from today. Her grandmommy is visiting Oct 21, so we’re hoping she stays snug inside me until then. The closer we get to term though, the more anxious I get to meet our little girl. I’m sure weeks will start dragging on and on now, because we are so close and I so can’t wait to hold that little one in my arms.

This little peanut is one spoiled girl already, let me tell you. She got literally “showered” with gifts. Our baby shower was fantastic. Everyone had a great time. Of course Savina slept through most of it haha. My in-laws’ house was beautifully decorated, and my SIL put together some amazing flower arrangements. She managed to find purple roses that just took my breath away! We had a guest book out front with photos of Savina during her 3D u/s, some cards for advice for the parents-to-be, and a special photobook I designed online. It depicts our and Savina’s journey thus far. In the living room we looped our 3D photos of Savina and our maternity shoot photos on the TV. We’d planned to play the DVD of our 3D session as well, but we never got around to that. Food was delightful! Fruits, veggies, brownies, sandwiches, cookies, and a gorgeous, super-cute duck-cake made by our friend Lee Haselton. Thanks so much Lee! That cake, save one piece and the duck, basically disappeared as I cut it. We originally thought we might freeze the duck and bring it out on Savina’s first birthday, but I’ve had baked goods frozen for 1.5 years before, and it didn’t taste well after that anymore. So we decided that we’ll bring it out at Savina’s birth–after all, that, in a way, is her first birthday.

We had four fun games at the shower.

First, we prompted every guest to take a pacifier necklace, and we told them they must not say the word “baby.” If they do say “baby” and someone catches them saying it, they will lose their pacifier to the person who heard them. The one with the most pacifiers at the end won. Congratulations Linda–she had 6 pacifiers, way to go!

Next, we handed every guest a plastic baby frozen in an ice cube. Guests were asked to “break the water” and get the baby out as fast as they could. Anything goes in that game, so unfortunately injuries were sustained lol People smashed the baby to the ground and one stomped on it. All in an effort to break the ice apart and get the baby out. The poor baby lost its arm! Another baby lost their arm and leg–how that happened I did not see. Others simply attempted to melt the ice in their hands. Jenny won this game–congratulations! (*whisperwhisper* she used some kind of device to break the ice open psssst).

We also had a “Baby Babble” game. A word game where the letters of baby-related words were all mixed up and the guests needed to put them back together. Congratulations to Margery for solving this puzzle the fastest! She was running head to head with Kathy.

Last but not least, we played the “guess mommy’s circumference” game. Many guests thought baby bulged out my belly a lot more than it does! Pete B. came very close but was beat by Charles, whose ribbon measured right on!!! No gaps, no extra! Wow, Charles, that was impressive!!

We all had so much fun with these games! Of course, Savina’s favorite part was the unwrapping of her gifts! What a celebrated little angel she is! Take a look at the picture below. These are all the things she received. Clothes, toys, a high chair, a cradle, a swing, a moby wrap, a book, diapers and associated necessities, many hand-knitted items. A mobile, blankets, a handmade quilt, and a doll. She received gifts from Nova Scotia and Newfoundland. Savina also got a giftcard, money (with which we are planning to get her a little tub for bathing times), and more on the way. Wow!

My personal highlight of this shower was seeing my friend Peter Bussiere arrive! Peter was originally unable to come to the shower, and I haven’t seen him in a loooooong time. Spotting him walking across the lawn towards my in-laws’ house, I could not believe my eyes!! I’m soooo happy you came, Pete! ❤

Yes, I was exhausted after the shower, but it was so worth it! Sunday we slept in long, and in the afternoon we headed for Babies ‘R’ Us to figure out what we still need. Imagine me sigh. Yes, it’s still quite a bit, and it will likely be a creditcard purchase, but that’s to be expected! I can not thank our generous friends and family enough for their amazing assistance in getting ready for the arrival of our little girl.

Yesterday we found some awesome deals at T.J. Maxx, which is the last place I would have thought to look for what we found: The bundle-me by JJ Cole was 43 Dollars at BRU, and, searching online, hardly anyone else sells it, and if they do, they want the same price. T.J. Maxx had it for an amazing $25!!! Also, we found the Tommee Tippee electrical steam sterilizer, which BRU wants $70!!!! for, for only $40 at T.J. Maxx–what a deal! Grant you, it appears to be an earlier model, but who cares! Then, we discovered that Sears has an amazing baby department. 75% of their baby clothes were on a 50% off sale yesterday! Since most of the clothes Savina received Saturday were much needed onesies and sleepers, we picked up some play-time, day-time outfits for her, and some more socks, which we were really lacking. We also found a good first-aid kit and a beautiful, sizable diaper bag, which was on sale! On top of that we saved an extra 5% at check-out for using our Sears card. What a deal!

I finally feel like we’re going to be completely ready for this little lady’s arrival. Friday we will pick up some special laundry soap for baby, and then I’ll wash all her clothes. I can’t wait to hang and fold them all and put them in her room where they belong. Can you tell how much I am in love with this baby?!

Back to our weekly updates. Last week, once again, I forgot to mention the result of our last midwife appointment. So here it is:

Savina’s heart rate was mostly in the 140s/150s. When she got excited, it went up to the 160s. Fundal height was close to 32 cm–right on target! My blood pressure was good and my urine tested fine. She’s still head down and likes to snuggle mostly on my right. We’ll be seeing our midwife again tomorrow, so hopefully next week I will not forget to include the update on my weekly journal entry!

Sunday I felt some pain in my lower abdomen. I’m quite sure it was associated with a BH I had. This would be the first time I felt pain with a Braxton Hicks. It only lasted about a minute, and it hasn’t happened since.

I wanted to mention, last week I wore a pair of high heels, which I haven’t worn in months. That’s mostly because in the summer I tend to like my flip-flops. They are nice and airy and cooler than high heels–perfect for summer temperatures. I did wear my high heels last week because I was going to a class associated with my profession. I was not really surprised that I had absolutely no problems walking and standing in them, despite my ever growing belly and different weight distribution/balance due to the pregnancy.

My weight this week has shot up! It’s been going between 173 and 176 pounds, with an upward trend. Average weight gain so far is 30 pounds, with six more weeks to go. Wow!!

This week’s update is getting long, and you’re probably getting a little tired, so I’ll save the other two topics for next week. Look forward to read about a major (and embarrassing) case of PB, and about a cat who decided it was time to step up!

Here are my latest belly pictures, taken at 33 weeks and 2 days:

2 comments on “34 weeks – baby already getting spoiled!

  1. Maccabros says:

    It was and IS still a wonder – a child…

Leave a Reply

