32 weeks – poor Savina got “sunfried”

It takes a little bit longer to process the maternity photos than I was aware of. So I’m sorry you’ll have to wait a little while longer for the special photo feature, but here’s a little preview:

Our photoshoot started 10am on Saturday at a private beach we were given access to by friends. Thank you Legare and Margery! Kathy did an amazing job at taking our photos. She was very personable and professional at the same time and made us feel very comfortable. Thank you Kevin for connecting us with her! It’s quite likely we’ll hire her again for a newborn photoshoot once Savina has blessed us with her grand entrance.

So this shoot was in the morning, beautiful weather, warm, nice breeze, strong sun, cool water but not too cold–I suck at tolerating cold water, so if I was fine, it means the water wasn’t all that cold. Unfortunately, I underestimated the sun, or rather I neglected thinking of the impact the sun would have on my bare body, my delicate skin. I’ve never had a sunburn on my belly before, at least I can’t remember any such occasion! I never thought I’d need to put sunscreen on for this shoot, but I really should have. A few hours after the shoot, I noticed that my belly had been very fried in that sun. Poor baby girl! I’m so sorry, hunny. I burnt my face, my hands (which rarely happens), my belly (which never happens), my lower back only slightly, and my decollete. I was really surprised my belly was more burnt than my face! So weird. So I put aloe vera gel on the burnt areas about every three hours or so. It’s gotten a lot better since, and surprisingly the pierced skin around my belly button healed a little bit, too. Hmmm, maybe aloe is a secret healing ingredient for torn skin! That area around my piercing is still red, but it doesn’t hurt now moving the piercing around, and I can see where some of the torn skin has grown shut. Let’s see how long that lasts! Once again something good emerges from a mishap.

After the shoot we went shopping and picked up some really neat stuff for Savina. A box of toys, a couple wooden puzzles, and some books:

I love all the wooden toys that came in the box–they remind me of my own childhood. Roaming the infant toys section at Toys ‘R’ Us after finding this awesome toy box at Christmas Trees really brought back some nice memories, reminding me of toys I used to play with as a child, which otherwise I’d never remember. I was positively surprised, too, that Toys ‘R’ Us was still selling many of the old fashioned, especially wooden, toys. I’m really happy I can offer my baby those valuable toys rather than going with today’s mainstream plastic crap, mostly with some cartoon theme that just dries out the child’s fantasy and slows down their creative development–my opinion anyway. I’m not generally against plastic toys, it’s just… well, you get the idea.

I totally forgot to update on my last midwife appointment. So here’re just some quick numbers and a brief summary:

At 30 weeks and 1 day Savina’s heart rate measured in the 140s bpm. Fundal height was at 30 cm! Our baby girl was still on the right, head down. She then moved slightly to the center/left as our midwife was feeling out her position. She does enjoy my right the most though. Her heart beat was very clear. It sounded loud and strong, and we could hear it best on my mid-low left side. I’ve never heard her heart beat this loud and strong! It was awesome.

Our next appointment is tomorrow, so you’ll hear about that next week.

Some time when taking a shower last week, I realized that daddies have one bonding advantage over mommies, which is great, because mommies can bond so much easier with their babies before they are born, but at that time it bothered me that I could not do what my dear husband can do: kissing Savina–kissing my belly. Nope, definitely can’t reach down there haha. I just had that strong urge to just bend down and kiss my baby girl. But I’ll have to wait a few more weeks before I can cuddle and kiss her endlessly! The closer we get the more excited I become. I just want her in my arms so badly! Yet I know I’ll miss feeling her inside me like crazy!

Yesterday Peter made me laugh really hard after dinner. We had some very delicious stir-fry with ramen noodles and chicken–a whole plate full! After indulging in all that yummy food, I was still hungry. So Peter looked at my belly, slightly lowered himself towards it and said: “You’ve got to leave some for Mommy.” Omg that was just so sweet and funny. ❤

And how’s Mommy doing otherwise? Well, I’ve mentioned the fatigue a couple weeks ago. This lovely third trimester is definitely bringing some symptoms (back). Fatigue is more and more present. I can hardly go a day without getting a 30-60 min. nap in, even after sleeping beyond my usual hours (8 at the most) at night. I tend to get a headache if I sleep longer than 8 hours normally, but not during these last few weeks. I can go for 9-10 hours and no headache, and still need my daily nap. I can hardly even motivate myself to go downstairs and use my treadmill for a 20 min. walk. Oh well!

Frequent urination has returned. During the second trimester I went on my nightly bathroom “strolls” 0-2 times a night. Now, in the third trimester, it’s more as it was in the first: 1-3 times a night, or more if needed. I also had one case of heartburn, which I hadn’t experienced in months. Round ligament pain has returned as well, “yay”. My fingers are still swollen, which is really annoying. I have decided to leave my rings on when taking a shower (I’d usually take them off, but it’s such a PIA now).

Weight gain: currently I’m moving around between 170 pounds and 172 pounds, which means an average weight gain of 26 pounds so far, with 8 more weeks to go. Not bad! I really have a hard time cutting back on the ice cream, ugh! And I need to eat more around lunch time. Drinking has been difficult again too, as it’s not hot enough outside anymore to make me drink more. All things considered though, I’m rather proud of my drinking water throughout this pregnancy. I’d be lucky to get 10 fl oz a day pre-pregnancy, while now I get at least 40, often 50, and when it’s really hot I get around 60-70, on rare occasions even 80 fl oz. I know, I know, it’s still on the low side–but put in contrast pre-pregnancy vs. now I think I’m doing damn well. And my urine is mostly very light, sometimes even clear, so there!

Well, I guess that’s all for this week. See ya next week.

My preggo belly at 31 weeks 2 days:

2 comments on “32 weeks – poor Savina got “sunfried”

  1. Maccabros says:

    still looking good and the wooden toys? Cute.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

