30 weeks and baby is growing

We’ve reached the big three! Only 10 weeks, or 70 days, to go! That number seems a lot more managable. Slowly but surely I’m starting to get the feeling of “need to get this all done and ready!” — after all, baby could arrive early. We’re getting there, slowly. I’ll feel a lot better when we got most of the little things Savina is going to need. At least almost all the big things are out of the way. We just picked up a rocking chair this weekend. Decked out with a 20% off coupon and tax-free weekend, we got a $200 chair w/ ottoman at $160. Very cool. And it’s so comfy! I now sit in it and rock when I read. I’ve noticed Savina starting to kick/move as I rock, but it may just be coincidence, since so far it’s been after workout every time. We’ve also finally found a convenient way to hang Savina’s clothes instead of folding them. Since DH is still in need of a closet for his own clothes (he currently occupies the nursery closet and will until the basement closet is done), we needed a solution for where to put Savina’s clothes. I didn’t want to fold them all and use up the limited amount of drawer space we have in the room–especially don’t really want to fold her cute dresses! So we took out one of the boards of the shelf we’re using in her nursery, and added a bar to the top shelf. The board we took out will serve as a small shelf under the window. Check out the picture. The board is currently leaning against where it will be placed.

nursery is coming together
click to enlarge photo

So what is our little one doing? Let me tell you, she’s growing–like crazy. Thursday last week her movement quieted down a lot (considering she was mega-active 3-4 days before). Saturday she broke her own record in how long it took me to feel her kick 10 times. Sunday morning I woke up around 6 am (about an hour/hour and a half earlier than usual) and I was starving! That was the first time in this pregnancy I actually was so hungry that I seriously considered having an early snack. I drank some water, hoping that would help, but it didn’t. Finally, a half hour or so later, I got up and grabbed some grapes from the fridge. Those helped, but not for long. I eventually decided to just get up (that was around 7 am), since I couldn’t sleep anymore anyhow. I grabbed a larger bunch of grapes and sat down in the office. About a half hour later I had my usual breakfast. Boy, that didn’t keep me filled for long!! I then ate (yep, I sinned lol) a chocolate croissant long before lunch, and it didn’t take long for me to go hungry again. I swear I was eating all day and I was hungry all day regardless! My belly just wouldn’t stop making noise, no matter what I ate! Sunday night, while doing my kick counts, it took me 15 min. to get Savina to wake up enough to feel the first of the 10 kicks I need to count. She broke her record in laziness again on Monday, but has since increased in activity again. Well, if that wasn’t a growth spurt, I wouldn’t know what it was lol – mega hunger plus mega inactivity = definitely baby growing like crazy.

Savina’s movements have changed a little overall as well. I’m now feeling her move around a lot more than getting actual kicks. I mean, kicks haven’t slowed down or anything, but her other movements are catching up big time! Also, her movements and kicks are getting more pronounced. Sometimes they almost hurt! And I still love it lol. I was visiting a friend a little while ago, and she totally cracked me up, when she titled the move I described in an earlier blog post. Remember, when Savina was moving around my belly button like an alien? She called it–and it fits perfect–the doughnut move! Hahaha!! One night during this past week I got another cool, funny looking move from Savina, and of course Peter missed it again. I can only describe it through the title I gave it: the bubble bath move. I swear, for just a few seconds my belly looked like an active bubble bath!! Can you imagine?! Where’s that camera when I need it??

How is this mommy-to-be doing otherwise? Well, it seems I get these lovely leg cramps I talked about earlier once a week now… It’s been three weeks, and I’ve had one every week–this week included. Ugh! I hold strong against it, pulling my foot toward me as hard as I can. That keeps away the pain somewhat, but doesn’t release the cramp. When the cramp finally stops, it feels so funny as the foot moves closer more easily towards me as the muscle relaxes.

My BH contractions seem to be getting slightly stronger every now and then. I can’t say they hurt, cuz they don’t, but every now and then one of them is now feeling slightly uncomfortable.

My fingers are going through some swelling experiences. Well, at first I thought it was the weather. You know, the heat, the humidity. My fingers always swell a little in the summer–I think everyone’s do. And this was, as far as I can tell, the most humid summer I’ve experienced since moving to Cape Cod, so I wasn’t too surprised to find them swelling a bit more than usual. But recently I’m getting the feeling that it’s more than just the weather. Some rings (those on my thumbs) I can barely get off anymore. Maybe my fingers are just getting fat lol. No, seriously, I think that’s another one of those pregnancy feats. My midwife asks me at every appointment if I’m experiencing any swelling. So far my answer has always been ‘no’ but this time I might have to say ‘yes.’ I now also notice that when I flex my fingers, they turn slightly pale, and get those red borders, you know like when you cut of blood vessels. And it’s not comfortable. Be interesting to see what my midwife advises when I see her tomorrow–so excited to see my midwife!

I’ve been getting tired during the days lately. I was spared in the first trimester, but I guess now, in the third, I get more fatigued. Yesterday I slept from 2-3pm.

Weight gain: I gained 1 pound this past week. I’m now at 171 pounds, but still more in the 169/170 area during the rest of last week. Average overall weight gain is at 25 pounds. (and still no stretch marks, yay!)

Piercing–that dreaded thing just doesn’t want to heal. I have given up the salt soaks. It was getting annoying, and it wasn’t helping as much as I was hoping it would. No wonder, every time it heals a little, the skin stretches more and breaks open again around the piercing. So now I’ve decided to wear my flexible maternity piercing during the day, and the regular one at night. I guess I’ll have to wait for it to heal after giving birth. I’m definitely not giving up on my piercing, unless I absolutely completely have to.

This week’s update is getting long, sorry! There’s just one more thing I want to say. One of the many many reasons I love my husband so much: He is such a caring, sweet person! Since we emptied the spare bedroom to turn it into a nursery, we had to move everything into the basement, as you know. That includes my treadmill. Peter is so sweet and worried–I now have to report to him whenever I go down there to exercise, and then when I’m done and back upstairs, just so he’s reassured I’m well and didn’t have an accident down there, unable to get myself up. ❤

Here are my belly pics for 29 weeks and 2 days:

(click to enlarge)

grow baby grow 🙂

I still don’t really feel all that big

2 comments on “30 weeks and baby is growing

  1. Maccabros says:

    Eating all day?

    Beat it – get yourself an egg and eat it…:)

Leave a Reply

