26 weeks – playing hide and seek with Savina

Sorry I’m late with this post this week. My photo-editing platform didn’t want to cooperate yesterday, so I gave up. I know, a lousy excuse 🙂

Soooo, 26 weeks!! Wooohoooo, getting so close! Only 97 days to go! Double digits! Wow! This summer is flying by. I’m so excited.

Last Wednesday we had our appointment with our wonderful midwife. It went very well. Everything checked out great. My uterus measured 25.5 cm, which is an amazing growth increase since our last appointment. Rule of thumb is: as big as the number of weeks you are along, plus/minus 3. Last month I was a little bit in the “minus 3” range. This month I measure +0.5–my uterus has grown a lot in a month 🙂 You can tell by comparing some of those belly pics, too. I think towards the end of my pregnancy, I may do a collection of monthly pics to compare, quite like I did with the first few weeks belly pics.

Savina’s heart rate ranged in the 130s and 140s, and our midwife saw her kick for the first time. So nice of Savina to do that for her. She sleeps a lot lately, so I was positively surprised to see such a strong visible kick last week. Also, Savina has been very low most of the time, but her kick for our midwife was nice and high in comparison.

A couple days ago, Savina and I played a little bit of hide and seek. So much fun! I must have got her on a good day, because after that she didn’t “come out” to play anymore haha. I took a flashlight and held it up to my belly. I moved it around a little at first, then stopped at one point and gently pushed down three times. Immediately following that, Savina did a very quick series of three kicks right underneath the flashlight!! She’s never kicked three times in a row quickly like that before. How amazing! 😀 She must have had fun haha. The kicks were rather high up too – I was trying to lure her out because she is kicking so low lately that most of the time I can’t even see it. So I guess, she literally “came out” to play hide and seek with mommy 🙂 The rest of the time she seems to live around my bladder and use that as a punching ball recently.

Yesterday I picked up a new two piece bikini, a nice shirt (that I can use as a throw)–now I can’t wait to get to the beach haha–and a super-cute dress for Savina. I just couldn’t resist. It’s a 9mo size, perfect for next summer.

Mommy update: Feeling great apart from the occasional cramps. Getting a lot of BH contractions, but they don’t bother me at all, and they are very irregular. Weight gain: geez this week I jumped all over the place again, between 164 and 167. I’d say average weight gain still 20 pounds (until I get a more steady weight on my chart). I’ve had some fun with my piercing recently. For those of you who don’t know: When I turned 18 (almost 11 years ago), I got myself a belly piercing as a birthday gift. I’ve never needed to take any great care of it. It healed perfectly well after getting pierced and I haven’t needed to care for it since (you know, sanitizing and such). I know, I know, some people will say baaaaad Elli! But really, my piercing was fine. Up until a week or so ago. I noticed it had gotten red, and a little irritated. There was not much room left either, as the skin stretched so much around it. So I finally switched to my super-comfy, bendy maternity piercing with this cute pacifier dangling from it. I was hoping that would do the trick, but it didn’t. It wouldn’t heal up. So I researched a little and found out that, especially when you moisterize your skin, the piercing needs to be sanitized regularely. I’d been oiling my skin for months now, and of course the piercing rubbed it right in, moving up and down. Leaving that untouched was not a good idea. I put my smaller, regular, piercing back in, because the maternity slides more of course, as it is larger. I now do salt soaks twice a day to help it heal and I think it’s already getting much better. I also have to, unfortunately, return the pacifier part of the maternity piercing, because the ball that screws on the bottom seems to be defective. It kept coming off no matter what I tried.

Baby spotlight: Savina measures about 9 inches (about the length of a small pineapple) and weighs almost two pounds. Her eyebrows and eyelashes are well formed now. Her eyes are fully developed and will soon open for the first time! Her tiny finger-and footprints are forming, awwww. She is starting to use her lungs to mimic breathing!

Mommy’s belly at 25 weeks and 2 days:

(click to enlarge)

can’t wait for your arrival, sweetie!

keep growing little one 🙂

Leave a Reply

