10 weeks – a new milestone

So here we are. I’m past my loss point (9w5d). I have to say I wasn’t quite as nervous as I feared I would be. I checked every wipe a bit more closely than usual and still do, but that’s about it. However, I think now that I’m past my loss point I’m a little more nervous than I was before passing it. Don’t ask me why – I really don’t know. Every day I get closer to twelve weeks I seem to get a little bit more nervous. Maybe it’s not really that I’m scared but rather excited that I’ll be in a safer zone soon. Either way, this pregnancy is getting more real with every passing day. DH and I have been taking belly pictures since I was 4w2d. I’ve compiled the pictures from 6w2d, 7w2d, 8w3d, and 9w4d. So after I’d I finally put all those pics side by side, I could see the difference between the first three and the latest. There is a very first bump there – how exciting is that! While my belly is evenly “bulged” in the first three photos, in the last one I see just the lower part bumping out. That’s so encouraging to see! For those of you who are not so familiar with this science: The lower part of my belly is where the uterus is currently at. Within the next couple of weeks it will begin to move up. I’ll add the collage at the end of the post.

This weekend we had a lot going on. First, I had my very first prenatal appointment with my new midwife on Friday afternoon. It was great! She asked me some questions, answered my questions, took my blood pressure and my pulse and tested my urine-all in the comfort of my home (My midwife comes to our house for those visits). We also talked about nutrition again, which is great. She gave me a nutrition plan, but said she won’t hold me to it. I do try to follow it as best I can. It’s almost like a game: how many boxes can I check off today? Among others: whole grains, dairy, extra protein, extra vitamin C, extra vitamin A, dark green leafy vegetables, fats and oils, eggs, snacks, and especially: water. Sometimes that really helps me drink more-sometimes. Because I want to check off those little boxes haha!

Saturday DH and I got a huge break financially – which we really needed. I’m so relieved. We have our tax-returns done professionally and found out we owe no more than ~$700 (+$1250 which we had already paid last year in advance). Last year we owed a total of over $8000, which made me cry as we were just planning to start a family. We went on a payment plan and got it all paid off within a year. Sweet! I feel so much better, now that that burden is off our shoulders. And that’s good because stress is a bad thing for baby. We don’t want to teach the baby what stress is before it is even born, right? 🙂

After our tax-returns were done, we briefly visited MIL and BIL. Then we went on to a dealership we had gotten some advertisement-mail from. Due to traffic problems caused by construction, what should have been a ~45 min. ride took over an hour. Why did we want to drive 45 min. to go to a specific dealership? Are we thinking of buying a particular car? No. It was all just because of the advertisement. Supposedly we’d won something. I’m going to go into more detail in a little bit – trust me when I say the message as to how and what we won (on the ad) was more than misleading. I was certain we won at least $100, which was the smallest of four possible prizes. But it wasn’t quite like that. There was a number in big bold letters in the middle of the add. The other number was hidden digitally. You had to pull the strip to reveal the other number, and they had to match. Ours did match, so I called the dealership and asked about it. He said, yes it means you won. I asked what I won but he wouldn’t tell me. He said he’d have to see the number. Of course that was just a way to lure us into the lion’s lair. So we go there and are asked by a salesperson to sit down. The salesperson points out another number (much smaller print and rather hidden), which is the actual winning number. In order to win anything (nope we did not necessarily win anything just because the two big numbers matched – cuz everyone’s does, as he actually told us), so in order to win anything our small print number had to be within the range of two numbers printed on a piece of paper at the dealership. THEN we get a Target gift card ($5 woopie) and a scratch ticket. We have to scratch 6 of a billion squares and find 6 keys – we will win something if we find all six keys, and only then. So we scratch. Didn’t find 6 keys of course. After we left, I scratched the rest – since the scratch ticket was now pretty much useless. There were 6 keys there in fact. So IF we had gotten 6 keys, we then had to see whether we won the grand prize ($25000 or a vehicle), the second prize ($15000 or a vehicle), the third prize ($500 Target giftcard), or the fourth prize of $100. We’d see that by scratching off a certain section of the ticket, which would reveal either one, two, three or four stars (ours was one by the way).
So you see how much a person had to go through to actually win one of those four prizes?! (one of which was listed in the small print at an almost 99% chance, by the way, and of course the whole scratch ticket thing wasn’t advertised). Ridiculous. Of course, before we could see what we won, we had to go through the whole “I’m trying to sell you something” -process. We actually got to test-drive one of the cars they had available.

Well, anyway, sorry for this rambling. Making a long story short we walked out 1 1/2 hours later with a $5 Target gift card. Not really what we’d intendet to spend over 1 hour in traffic for. So we went to Target, which would have been our next stop regardless, because they owed us a $20 giftcard. I won’t tell you why or how they owed us that. You’ll just have to believe that one :p

We walked around the store and ended up buying my first two maternity clothes! How exciting! I have to tell you, I look awesome in maternity clothes haha! Even though my belly is not really showing just yet, not much anyway. So we bought a violet shirt for the summer (also well designed for breastfeeding) and a black dress. I don’t have any photos wearing them yet. I’ll show them once I do.

Okay, here are my preggo symptoms for this week:

Morning sickness: I definitely spoke too early two weeks ago. I’m still getting nauseous, especially if I eat too much. The frustrating part is, I get nauseous also if I eat not enough… Also, I found out this past weekend that baby seems to be almost vegetarian. We already know he/she doesn’t like white meat, chicken, turkey. Well, he/she also doesn’t seem too wild about veal – I’m assuming it’s veal. I had some meatloaf from H&K Saturday (and leftovers Sunday). Beef hadn’t bothered me up until then, so I thought it was the veal. And it might yet be, although we had homemade cabbage soup on Monday with hamburger in it, and I couldn’t eat all that hamburger either. Hamburger definitely doesn’t taste the same anymore. However, a hamburger patty on a big mac seemed fine! Baby is really picky.

Cramps: felt some on Sunday, though I’d really not call it cramps. It was more like a feeling of tenderness in my lower abdomen. Things must be starting to move.

Other pains: Definitely feeling ligament pain more often since last Friday. I feel them when using the toilet mostly, but sometimes also when I laugh. The backpain returned. It had disappeared slowly and was gone on the day I had my prenatal appointment with my midwife. She also guessed I may have just slept wrong. But now it’s back, and I feel it every now and then-especially when I lie on my back for too long.

Breasts: I can’t believe how sensitive they are now! I actually have to be careful how I lie, when lying on my side, or else it becomes painful. The itchiness seems gone for the most part. I haven’t been using the Calendula ointment recently to see if the itchiness has ceased. I’ll be watching that.

Frequent urination: Yea, still have that a little bit, but not so bad now. Mostly during the night. I have to get up once or twice to urinate. When I really had to go often during the day, I generally slept through the night – so I guess it’s just taking turns at this point.

Weight gain: For the past four days my weight has been steady at 146.8 pounds. Today I was shocked to see 149.4! Where did that all come from just overnight? Wow! Have to see what happens tomorrow, but I’m guessing it will be back down in the 147 range. Still only 1 pound gained thus far on average.

Other symptoms: Had some heartburn last Wednesday evening. I swear my eyes have become more susceptible to light. I just look into the clouds on a nice day, sun hiding somewhere, and it hurts my eyes. Not sure if that’s due to my hormonal changes or my body just being silly. This morning I woke up totally gassy. I don’t think I’ve ever been this gassy in my whole life! So maybe the extra 1+ pound on the scale was actually more air stuck in my intestines haha!

That’s it. So here are my belly pics (in turn -belly exposed&unexposed-6w2d, 7w2d, 8w3d, and 9w4d). Click on the image to enlarge.

Baby Bump weeks 6-9

2 comments on “10 weeks – a new milestone

  1. maccabros says:

    maternity clothes – you´re looking good and well … 🙂

    hope the morning sickness is not too bad and not so long..

Leave a Reply

